Moto X 2014 Does Moto Voice disable "Ok Google" hotword detection?

akin_t

Sep 29, 2014
Visit site
Still figuring this phone out as I'm new to the Android ecosystem. Ok Google doesn't work on my phone anymore (not even in safe mode). I am wondering if this is because Moto Voice has been set up?

Aquila

Retired Moderator
Feb 24, 2012
Visit site
Re: Does Moto Voice disable "Ok Google" hotword detection?

Tangentially yes, it doesn't work on the device at all, regardless of the presence of or state of Moto Voice. It can still be accessed via the moto voice hotword (obviously), but it is frustrating because it requires a new search each time - and that means it isn't chaining searches together.

akin_t

Sep 29, 2014
Visit site

Tangentially yes, it doesn't work on the device at all, regardless of the presence of or state of Moto Voice. It can still be accessed via the moto voice hotword (obviously), but it is frustrating because it requires a new search each time - and that means it isn't chaining searches together.

Wait so you mean to tell me that "OK Google" is simply not available on the Moto X? That any touchless voice control is all initiated through Moto Voice?

I thought I could use "Ok Google" if I was on the home screen. I'm pretty certain I've triggered it before, but it's so inconsistent.

Aquila

Retired Moderator
Feb 24, 2012
Visit site

Wait so you mean to tell me that "OK Google" is simply not available on the Moto X? That any touchless voice control is all initiated through Moto Voice?

I thought I could use "Ok Google" if I was on the home screen. I'm pretty certain I've triggered it before, but it's so inconsistent.

What does it do in Google Now settings when you go to Voice and check From any screen?

Aquila

Retired Moderator
Feb 24, 2012
Visit site

The next screen after checking this fails on the Verizon version...

23827d7b0c84d17b86fc3308008dbea0.jpg

XT1096NiT Fury. AndroidCentral Moderator

akin_t

Sep 29, 2014
Visit site