Who plans to unlock/root?

Will you unlock and root your Moto X Pure Edition/Style?

• Total voters

Clocks

Aug 27, 2010
Visit site
So this will be an unlockable and rootable device. Anyone planning on doing that?

Personally I haven't seen a need since the 2013 moto x killed my flashaholicism. I may unlock simply because if I decide to later you have to wipe your device. But I'll probably leave it alone.

Uncle Louie

Jun 14, 2010
Visit site
I definitely plan to...even if it's just for backing up apps. But of course I wouldn't rule out flashing a ROM if/when something interesting comes along.

Clocks

Aug 27, 2010
Visit site
Same here on apps over flashing roms. If I were to root it would be to run an ad blocker. I buy the paid versions of apps that have that option available but some mobile websites are darn near unusable with all the annoying ads (and I work in the digital advertising industry).

trenchkato

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
I will root for sure as I hate mobile ads. I'll probably unlock the bootloader just in case but I'm not planning on ROMing. After 3 generations on nexus, I'm ready for something that just works.

co.ag.2005

Aug 28, 2010
Visit site
I plan on root, mainly to theme things like the navigation bar buttons and notification bar icons. Maybe some fonts too. I love CM theme engine (and all the amazing themes out there in the play store) so if there would ever be a stable build of CM, I may flash a ROM. Otherwise, root will help with my theming desires.

diesteldorf

Dec 1, 2010
Visit site
I'll definitely unlock and root, for apps instead of flashing ROMs

Once in awhile I'll watch a TV show via Netflix or Hulu and be worried about falling asleep early. I don't want it still streaming all night. There is an app called Auto Reboot that let's me set a specific time for the phone to reboot. It's easier for me than using Tasker. You just need to Grant it permission the first time you use it.