1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default 3g/4g questions

I have been to a lot of NHL and college football games lately and when I am there I have no data service, despite showing a decent 4G connection most of the time. *I understand that tens of thousands of people overloading a single (or couple) of towers can slow or halt data, but beyond that I have very little knowledge of how these things work. *

One thing I have noticed, however, is that when I am at the game occasionally my phone will flip over to 3G, and when that happens data seems to work pretty well.

My questions:

1) Will my phone work better on 3G in a super crowded area, or was my observation merely a coincidence?*

2) If so, does anyone know an easy way to switch between 4G & 3G? *I was using an app for this on my Bionic but I can't seem to find it for the Moto X.

Thanks in advance!

Global Posts
    13,841 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock Moto X

Default Re: 3g/4g questions

Quote Originally Posted by londonham View Post
    I have been to a lot of NHL and college football games lately and when I am there I have no data service, despite showing a decent 4G connection most of the time. *I understand that tens of thousands of people overloading a single (or couple) of towers can slow or halt data, but beyond that I have very little knowledge of how these things work. *

One thing I have noticed, however, is that when I am at the game occasionally my phone will flip over to 3G, and when that happens data seems to work pretty well.

My questions:

1) Will my phone work better on 3G in a super crowded area, or was my observation merely a coincidence?*

2) If so, does anyone know an easy way to switch between 4G & 3G? *I was using an app for this on my Bionic but I can't seem to find it for the Moto X.

Thanks in advance!
    I honestly think the signal was stronger with 3G than 4. As for switching, it is kind of a pain; you have to dig through settings.