Wireless Charging

johnwashere

Aug 23, 2010
Visit site
How many people are using (Qi)Wireless chargers? I bought the nokia wireless charger that was on sale for $24 at ATT and started using it last night. I placed my phone right in the middle on it and my maxx said the phone needed to be aligned better- I think it said to push it up. The message went away after a second and I didn't even move the phone. Anyways I let it charge and checked on it about 15 minutes later and the phone was very hot (over 115*). I freaked out and removed the phone , checked all the cables and then reset the phone. I let the phone cool down a bit then placed it back on the charger but moved it up a bit - away from the camera. It seemed to be cooler then (still around 108*). After about 20 minutes I decided not to risk it and just plug in the old fashioned way.
Does anyone have any tips? I've never used a Qi charging device before... I had the palm pre wireless charger years ago and that was easier due to the magnets snapping the phone in place and it never got hot.

johnwashere

Aug 23, 2010
Visit site
I thought that any Qi charger would work. I was thinking about getting the Tylt Vu.

DROID Maxx ~ Android Central App

It should. The nokia wireless charger manual says: "Qi works using magnetic induction, and is currently designed for devices that use 5 watts of power or less, such as mobile phones. Qi chargers and devices use the same frequency, so as long as their active areas are touching, all Qi products are compatible, regardless of manufacturer or brand. For more details, see the user guides of both devices."

I basically just was wondering how other people are lining up their phones with their wireless charger and how hot their phones get.

Eclipse2K

Mar 22, 2011
Visit site
The phone will get hot and at 115 you have very little to worry about. This happens with the official charger too.

Sent from my Motorola Droid Maxx using Tapatalk 4

rinconmike

Mar 12, 2011
Visit site