New Droid Mini on PagePlus

salimoneus

Feb 20, 2015
Visit site
Hey all, Android noob here. I will be receiving a brand new never activated red Mini, manufacturer date 08/14. Not exactly sure which version of the OS it will have, perhaps 4.4?

Being able to use phone as a hotspot is a requirement for me. I would like to know what the easiest way to achieve this is. I understand that if I allow the phone to update itself to the latest 4.4.4 I will pretty much be SOL, so I assume that I will need to intervene immediately to prevent this. I understand that I wont be able to use the stock hotspot app regardless of what I do.

I have experience flashing older Palm phones and running UNIX type commands from a dev tool, etc.

Ideally I would also like to take an image of the factory install and be able to revert back to that at any time before mucking with things too much if possible.

Any assistance in getting pointed in the right direction would be much appreciated.

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
I understand that if I allow the phone to update itself to the latest 4.4.4 I will pretty much be SOL, so I assume that I will need to intervene immediately to prevent this. I understand that I wont be able to use the stock hotspot app regardless of what I do.
That's a carrier thing. If PagePlus doesn't allow tethering, then you can't. Period. (And they may cancel your account if you do - Straight Talk used to do that. One day your phojne wouldn't work, and when you called customer service, you were told that your account was cancelled for tethering. If that happened on day 2, you lost 28 days of service, and the possibility of ever getting a Straight Talk account.)

Ideally I would also like to take an image of the factory install and be able to revert back to that at any time before mucking with things too much if possible.