Noob question about rooting-- please help!

sardine314

Feb 11, 2010
Visit site
Hey everyone,

Please excuse my ignorance, but I'm still very new to all this rooting business. Nonetheless, I've successfully rooted my Motorola Droid (actually, technically it's the Milestone since it's the European version), and I read somewhere on this forum that rooted phones cannot receive pushed OS updates. I'm still running Android Version 2.0.1 (didn't think it was worth upgrading to 2.1), however, I DO receive the notification on my phone telling me to update the OS.

Basically, I'm wondering whether updating the OS on a rooted phone will cause it to become bricked or some such thing. I have not installed any custom ROMs (I can't, I've got a Milestone) and like everyone else, I'm anxiously waiting for Froyo. I don't want to do anything to my phone to destroy it for the time being. Also, if I update, will I lose my rooting capabilities (which have only just now become worthwhile since we Milestone folk can finally overclock our CPU's)? Your help is much appreciated.

terpitude71

Retired Moderator
Dec 9, 2009
Visit site
It won't brick your phone, but you will lose root access. There is however a method you can do where you can upgrade to 2.1 and keep root though. I'm not well versed in it, but some of the expert rooters on here will chime in, I'm sure

May 29, 2010
Visit site
Rooting for 2.1

The method I used which may differ from the Milestone.

I used the actual program SPF or whatever it is called to flash a new recovery image to the Droid.

With the new recovery image in place I simply booted into recovery and flashed a rooted 2.1 rom...Bugless Beast v1.1 to be exact.

Easy and took maybe 15 minutes tops not including flashing a new kernel later and such.

Pipester

Apr 24, 2010
Visit site
Toro do you have a Milestone or a Droid? If a Droid, you can root from 2.1 you just have to flash SBRecovery with RSD Lite and then flash a custom rom (MUCH easier than it sounds)