Rooting tonight, which to choose?

Chillout80s

May 21, 2010
Visit site
So Im taking the rooting plunge tonight on my Moto Droid. Ive been looking at how to vids and it seems pretty straight forward and shouldn't pose a problem * knock on wood* ;)

I was looking at the cyanogen one which looks really cool but since Im new to rooting, what do u all recommend as the best out there right now?

luke31

Mar 16, 2010
Visit site
I recommend Bugless Beast v0.4. In my opinion, Froyo is phenomenal, and this ROM is one of the best ones out there. Although Cyanogen sounds great, it's still only a RC, and I hear a few complaints about the market as well as stability. At least from my experience, Bugless Beast is pretty well polished, and works right out of the box.

Menno

Coffee Addict
Nov 9, 2009
Visit site
Cyanogen Rom RC1 has some stability quirks, I finally flashed away from it today to Jrummy's Kangarade. I'm Flashing back to it as soon as it's an official release though. CyanogenROM is by far my favorite.

If you are just starting try Bugless Beast,Jrummy, or Sapphire. They're all very stable.

Brett

Retired Moderator
Nov 22, 2009
Visit site
If your going to flash a rom don't flash a 2.1 rom. Its pointless at this point. You should download a froyo rom so you see the perks of having a rooted phone. Any of the ones mentioned are stable. Even cyanogenmod is too, don't know what the other person was referring to.

luke31

Mar 16, 2010
Visit site
I've heard very mixed reactions. Some say you need to install a market fix, others say that it's rather laggy and buggy, and then some say that cyanogen is perfect. I'm probably gonna try it out, once the final version is released. Bugless Beast, at least for me, works flawlessly. No market fixes needed, virtually no bugs. I guess it also varies from device to device?

Chillout80s

May 21, 2010
Visit site