What is Busybox?

ethan

Dec 29, 2009
Visit site
Just rooted, I'm very new to this. I'm about to do a nandroid backup, but I also wanted to use the Titanium backup app, it says to verify that my ROM is rooted (it is) and that it includes Busybox. I did a market search for it but I didn't find anything. What is it and where do I get it?

pspringer#AC

Apr 3, 2010
Visit site
Busy Box is something that you install on your Droid to give you some additional handy LINUX / UNIX based commands. You need Busy Box installed because some commands are not available to you and you made need them for some root level tasks. Here is some info on what Busy Box is.

BusyBox

Here are some good instructions for installing Busy Box. Sorry to direct you to someplace outside of this site. I am sure you can find other instructions in Android Forums, they all should be basically the same.

Install Busybox | Root Your Droid

Keep in mind that you will also need to have the Android SDK installed on your machine as well so you can run the ADB commands. I hope this helps.

Reactions: lgwhitlock

ebruot

Jan 23, 2010
Visit site
Just rooted, I'm very new to this. I'm about to do a nandroid backup, but I also wanted to use the Titanium backup app, it says to verify that my ROM is rooted (it is) and that it includes Busybox. I did a market search for it but I didn't find anything. What is it and where do I get it?

In Titanium Backup if you hit the problems button, it will download and install busybox.:D

spsands

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
thanks for the info, I know it was required to do cp command to try and allow 3rd party apps on my Att Captivate after I rooted.

just wasnt sure what it actually did... LOL,

makes sense.
:p

shaneg1990

May 21, 2012
Visit site