Throwing in the towel

dcallan

Jan 15, 2014
Visit site
Hi Turbo fans!

I wanted to let you know that after 3 months and 4 Turbos, I am giving up. I think the device is terrific, has all the features one could want, but is ultimately flawed. My story:

I bought the Turbo Oct 31st, when it first came out. I traded in my Droid Maxx, which I was very fond of. I have been using exclusively Motorola droids since 2008 when the initial Droid came out. I support my "local" business (Motorola) because some of my engineer friends work for Motorola mobility and live in my neighborhood. I am a techie and I have been customizing android for the past 7 years. I consider myself a "power user" at minimum, "expert" at best.

The Turbo was great, except, I couldn't hear anyone on the other end of a call. Volume was simply too low. I was told to hold it differently. Still too low, and I am not hard of hearing. Ultimately, I decided to request an exchange after the software update failed to address the problem.

Replacement 1: It arrived by mail on time. However, the bottom bezel of the phone was separated from the screen/body. I could see what looked like components through the gap. It was a noticeable gap. I tried giving it a little shove to close it back up. No luck. I called and asked politely for another replacement. They obliged and sent a replacement. Refurbished like this one.

Replacement 2: The back of the phone had a dent in it. Not a deal breaker, but this one was too quiet yet again! I still can't hear people on the other line. Ugh. However, I decided that since Verizon would continue to ship refurbished phones, the likelihood of getting another lemon was high. So, I called Motorola directly. The issued an RMA and sent a "new" droid Turbo via fed ex, which arrived a few business days later.