why is gmail separate from all the other emails?

TurboCam

Jun 27, 2010
Visit site
I have 3 different emails, a yahoo, a corporate exchange, and a gmail. the yahoo and the exchange (along with facebook and texts) all show up in the "universal inbox" application within the "messaging" folder. Why is Gmail all by itself? it seems like the universal inbox has a better integration with the phone than the gmail does. am I doing something wrong? I'd really like to be able to check all my email in one spot. any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!

terpitude71

Retired Moderator
Dec 9, 2009
Visit site
it is separate because the gmail app has some extra features that are unique to it. plus, i am sure that google, who develops android, would prefer you use gmail over anything else

TurboCam

Jun 27, 2010
Visit site
What are the added feautures of using gmail? I am new to gmail and haven't adopted to it. I barely use right now.....as I've had my main email for over a decade.

mflynn

Jul 13, 2010
Visit site
Agree with the OP, it really doesn't make sense. So now I need three email apps because google didn't support the various group policies many corporations require to access their exchange servers.
I have my gmail app, my non-gmail app and touchdown. If apple can provide a unified inbox and a single email app why can't google?

largeselection

Nov 4, 2009
Visit site
I agree that it offers extra features, but they couldn't have a menu that opens with different options based on the email account origination? I feel like that should be possible.

Leif

Jun 24, 2010
Visit site
If you don't like the gmail app (like me), than DON'T USE IT.