ok.. Just rooted my X. what did you do next?

jeepzilla

May 10, 2010
Visit site
The droid X is my first android phone.. i had a ton of blackberrys and
I came to the darkside and wish i did it long ago... OK so i just rooted with "easy root" downloaded adfree, busy box (what does that do?)
drocap (screen shot) and of course Wireless tether.... Now what?
please remember im new to all this sorry.... let the flames begin.

BrianTX

Jul 23, 2010
plus.google.com
I would recommend upgrading to froyo or under volting your processor. Both of these will extend your battery life. Instructions for both are in the hacks area of this forum.

greydarrah

May 5, 2010
Visit site
i would recommend titanium backup as well. allows you to completely back up your system

That is a very choice find! I've been looking for a backup program that would grab all of your settings. This is looking very much like a complete and total phone backup that bb's have.

greydarrah

May 5, 2010
Visit site
I would also recommend to the op SetCPU and AutoKiller. Both will help you better manage memory and CPU to increase battery life (I always get a full day now). AutoKiller is NOT an ATK type of app. It basically lets you tell the OS what levels of available memory you want to maintain and then lets the Android OS manage when and which apps to close as needed. ATK can be bad news as it lets you close apps that either you, or it chooses. Sometimes this can result in closing things that the system really want to be running, causing and enless loop of starting/closing/starting/closing...bad for the battery. AutoKiller just says...hey system...we're getting low on RAM. Why don't you close some of this stuff that's not being used that you (the system) know is ok to close.

Last edited:

greydarrah

May 5, 2010
Visit site
sorry for such a dumb question but i am new to droid also, but why would I root my DX