Won't Factory Reset

besscastell

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
Hi, everyone. I'm new to having an android so bear with me here. I bought a refurbished Droid X off of Amazon, and after having a very fun time trying to get it to charge (took two days to do it), I was finally able to turn the phone on. Then I ran into a problem. The previous owner's data was still on there: accounts, pictures, everything. I didn't want to mess with that, so I decided to do a factory reset. I found instructions how to do that on this forum.

1. Turn the device off.
2. Hold the power and home button until the little android with a triangle and exclamation point come up.
3. Press the volume up and down buttons until the options menu comes up
4. Highlight "wipe data/factory reset".
5. Press the power button to select that option and wait for it to run through.
6. Highlight "reboot system now" when that's done and then press power again.

I've done that literally ten times, but every time the phone has come up with the same settings, apps, accounts, and pictures that were on there when I went in the first time. I have no idea what to do. Can anyone help me? (And please tell me if this has been asked before. I tried searching for it in the forums, but I found nothing that would help me.)

Thanks!

besscastell

Jan 19, 2014
Visit site
Yeah. It boots up just fine but every time I "factory reset", any kind of changes I made (deleted accounts or apps or changed settings) go away and it goes back to the exact same way it was when I unpacked it. It connects to wifi and everything. I don't have it activated on a new number or anything, but I didn't want to do that without erasing the old owner's information.

mrsmumbles

Oct 5, 2013
Visit site
I'm stumped. Hopefully someone else will chime in. I don't think I ever heard of a reset replacing deleted data before.

Sent from my LG-LG870 using Tapatalk 2

mrsmumbles

Oct 5, 2013
Visit site