Just got my Droid X

OchoUno81

Jan 3, 2011
Visit site
So I'm new to this whole Android deal, but I had a buddy trying to teach me a little bit last night.

I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions or tips? Any good apps/widgets I need to download?

Also, I was searching the market last night, yet I couldn't find a good contacts widget, one that would preferably use Facebook photos for contacts? Any one have or know of a good one? And the other thing I searched for was a messaging widget, similar to what comes on the HTC Evo. I obviously know it won't run the same as it but something similar would be tremendous.

Thanks guys

lsmunoz

Jun 8, 2010
Visit site
I use SyncMyPix to put facebook photos on contacts. HandcentSMS for messaging. LauncherPro + as a home replacement.

If you do a search on this forum, you are bound to find lots of other suggestions as well.

hezzdown

Nov 12, 2010
Visit site
+ 1 For Launcher Pro Plus. Beautiful Widgets is awsome as well. I really like clockr for a time widget. Android Central is a great place to find the latest and greatest in apps so keep coming back and reading the reviews!

j0hnnyRingo

Sep 9, 2010
Visit site
I like the Beautiful Widgets app, nice widget with clock and weather and a good bit of skins to choose from.

Recently switched to the "simi clock" app for my homescreen clock, minimal and nice looking.

SwitchPro is a good widget to use for controlling wifi, brightness, battery meter, etc.

Also, Launcher Pro Plus is a nice home launcher replacement as well. A lot of customization options.

Cyber Warrior

Robots Will Kill
Nov 28, 2010
Visit site
Congrats on your phone. Just add your facebook account to your contacts. Contacts>Menu>Add account.

Same here:
Launcher pro plus with LPI
Beautiful Widgets
Handcent sms
K9 mail
,..........that's a good start for customizing.

spacecasespiff

Jan 23, 2010
Visit site