Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Factory reset questions

I've done a search on the forums and internet and didn't see much info about this.

I am contemplating a factory reset to resolve some minor issues with my phone. It's bone stock and has never been rooted, and never will be. I've installed 70-80 apps and uninstalled some I didn't want. I'm new to Android with my DX2 purchased on 6/20/11. So far I'm loving it, but not sure what exactly a factory reset (Menu>Settings>Privacy settings>Factory Data Reset) will do to my phone and what I need to do/reinstall after a factory reset. Apparently there is a popup or something that will ask if I want to erase internal storage. DX2 Factory Reset

1. Should one do a factory reset every once in a while to keep things running smooth?

2. Will I need to reinstall all the apps I've downloaded and installed up until this point?

3. Should I format internal storage as well? Or is this part of the factory reset- the erase function?

4. Will my phone be back to the Android 2.2.2 that came on it? If so, I'm thinking the very first thing I should do after the factory reset should be to install 2.3.3 back on it, correct?

5. Do I also have to re-activate the phone and go through that whole process?

6. Is there a way to backup all my phone settings so I won't have to figure out all of that over again? I did see under Settings>Privacy Settings there is Back up my data, which says "Back up application data, Wi-Fi passwords, and other settings to Google servers", but what exactly are "other settings" and where is this info stored?

Sorry so long winded, I'm just trying to weigh whether this is going to be worth it in the end depending on what all I have to do after a factory reset, never having done one before.

Global Posts
    3 Global Posts

Default Re: Factory reset questions