Why root,

Father Time

Jun 7, 2011
Visit site
Ok, so I'm a newbie kinda. Had my X for about 9 month or so and love it much more than my old BB. I'd call myself computer literate but not an expert.
In simple terms, why would I want to root my phone? Advantage? Disadvantages? What do I gain with root, and whats the difference (if any) between root and rom?

Ahowe125

Mar 2, 2011
Visit site
Ok, so I'm a newbie kinda. Had my X for about 9 month or so and love it much more than my old BB. I'd call myself computer literate but not an expert.
In simple terms, why would I want to root my phone? Advantage? Disadvantages? What do I gain with root, and whats the difference (if any) between root and rom?

The main advantage of Rooting a phone, is the ability to use Apps that would otherwise not be available to you. One example is Titanium Backup. This program requires the device to be Rooted. You can use it to make a backup of all your phones settings and applications. It can also be used to "freeze" the "bloatware" off your phone. Which just means disabling the Verizon programs that you don't want to use or need. It is extremely handy when flashing custom ROM's. There are MANY other applications that you have at your disposal when your Root your phone, and a lot of them preform functions that a normal user would not need to do.