Straight-forward step-by-step upgrade to 2.2

dbornack

Sep 2, 2010
Visit site
Pardon my ignorance.. but I have yet to find a simple step-by-step guide as to how to install a leaked version of Froyo on a Droid X, or a Custom ROM based on Froyo.

I have the neccessary stuff I believe.

- Rom Manager (including ClockworkMod)
- Phoxus Gift (.sbf file is in this .zip file)
- I'm rooted

What are the steps? Seems like there shuld be a simple 5 step guide out there, but I've been searching for a few days and can't find anything.

Again, sorry if it's obvious to everyone else, but I'm new to Droid (BB user for 6 years, and BB Leaked installs are dead-simple)

Thanks ahead of time for any help.

Adiliyo

Oct 17, 2009
Visit site
to install froyo, it's as simple as finding the update.zip and flashing it over.

(reboot into recovery and flash the update.zip)

to load a custom 2.2 rom, you need to be running 2.2 first, then using rom manager, download and install the rom of your choice. make sure to do a nandriod backup first.

DThomp

Jun 17, 2010
Visit site
+1 to rom manager its preloaded. Tap rom manager in your drawer, when it comes up on screen tap the first (top) selection, then when the popup comes up tap droid x. When that is done go down to download rims, select 2.2, then wipe data and clear cache then go. Give it a few minutes and you will have froyo.

Sent from my DROIDX

anon(19758)

Apr 30, 2010
Visit site
As I understand it, you have to pay for Rom Manager. Here's what I did:
-Put update.zip on the root of your SD card. Some versions of windows will hide extensions, so make sure it isn't update.zip.zip.

If you are rooted and want to KEEP root (as opposed to re-rooting) use
Root Explorer (paid app) to move "su" from /bin to /xbin

-Turn off your phone.
-Hold the home button
-Keep holding Home, and hold power until the Moto logo comes on. You can
release power, but keep holding home.
-Use Volume down to get to the update.zip option
-Press Camera button.