Rename Lock Screen

J T M

Jul 24, 2010
Visit site
I'm trying to customize my lock screen just a bit, and i'm not quite sure how to do it. I'll explain as best as i can.

I've seen several people online who have removed/changed the 'Verizon Wireless' banner that appears on the lock screen (see pic below) to something of their own choosing; i.e. 'Dave's Droid X' or what have you. I've tried searching all over for instructions on how to do this, but i don't know if i'm using the right terms or not, so i'm not getting any results. Can anyone help point me in the right direction? Thanks. :)

tntdroid

Droiderator
Feb 19, 2010
www.flickr.com
Need to be good with adb commands as you need to pull your framework and with a hex editor change the file around and the push back the framework. I was a noob to this not long ago and found a how to and had no issues. Just took some time. I googled how to change Verizon wireless droid x. If I find the link ill post it.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Reactions: victormolina15

tntdroid

Droiderator
Feb 19, 2010
www.flickr.com
Did you try it out? I just did it again no issues. I want something more than just Droid X but not sure what to put in. Just an FYI it changes both the lock screen and the drop down like in the photo.

snap20101104_203855.png

Reactions: victormolina15

J T M

Jul 24, 2010
Visit site
Sorry...i had to rush out to dinner right after i posted my question. Thanks for the info, but i haven't had a chance to try it out. I did look at the directions, and while they're a bit intimidating, i'm going to give it a shot this weekend.

tntdroid

Droiderator
Feb 19, 2010
www.flickr.com
Sorry...i had to rush out to dinner right after i posted my question. Thanks for the info, but i haven't had a chance to try it out. I did look at the directions, and while they're a bit intimidating, i'm going to give it a shot this weekend.