Rooted DX - stuck at 2.13.5 - Can't flash, can't reinstall bloatware.

Srambo217

Dec 12, 2010
Visit site
Hello everyone, I'm new to the forums but not the site or podcast. I'm rather new to Android and I'm having a very annoying issue with my rooted Droid X. The first thing I did when I rooted was delete bloatware with Titanium Backup, I didn't make a backup beforehand. I recently tried to flash a rom with Rom Manager, but my phone would fail at the recovery screen. I decided to give up and recently tried to install the new Droid X update and got the same issue. I'm assuming it's because I have the bloatware missing. I've tried to use Root Explorer to reinstall the bloatware but I cannot get Cardock, Weather Widget, or Pro Tips to reinstall. No matter what I do with the permissions, every time I try the installation process it fails and I get an "application not installed" notice. It only happens with these 3 apks. At this point I'm so confused and frustrated I just want to go back to completely stock/unrooted with all the bloatware back. Is this even a possibility? I desperately need help! Thank you!

Srambo217

Dec 12, 2010
Visit site
Dude, thank you so much! Everything looks like it went well! When I do a system update, it's telling me I'm up to date (2.3.13). Shouldn't this initialize the 2.3.340 update?

Srambo217

Dec 12, 2010
Visit site
Ok, I've found an update.zip that has taken me to 2.3.15 deodexed with all bloatware reinstalled. I'm assuming if I want to get to 2.3.340, I'm going to have to undeodex, unroot, factory restore, then About>Update, is this correct or is there an easier option?

terpitude71

Retired Moderator
Dec 9, 2009
Visit site
Ok, I've found an update.zip that has taken me to 2.3.15 deodexed with all bloatware reinstalled. I'm assuming if I want to get to 2.3.340, I'm going to have to undeodex, unroot, factory restore, then About>Update, is this correct or is there an easier option?