Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Xoom 2 or IPAD 2?

I am new to Tablets and need to purchase one by year end. Does anyone know if the Xoom 2 will be a 10 in screen and do you think its a smarter purchase than IPAD2. I will be using it to remote into my Workstation rather than carry a laptop.

I don't know, personally I would look closer at the eee pad transformer/slider or the new thinkpad beasties. The latter because of the bundled rdp client and the latter because of the keyboards. Rdp without a keyboard is really painful as I can attest to because I have been known to remote in to PC's via my phone. (A matter of what I have wihvme @ the time than a particular desire for self-punishment.)

Sent from my HTC Vision using Tapatalk

Default Re: Xoom 2 or IPAD 2?

well most of us here bought the Xoom we have now over the ipad2 .... I thank that is all that needs to be said.

Of course you realize it is likely that by the time you are deciding between the iPad and Xoom 2 you likely will be looking at the iPad 3, right?

Also as stated those here pretty much chose the Xoom over the iPad 2. so if we were to compare the Xoom 2 (whatever the final specs may be) it is unlikely that many, if any, will chose the iPad 2. Given the time-frame of by the end of the year I feel confident that Xoom 2 will not be an option for you, but I could be wrong.

My recommendation for any tech purchase is always get the most you can afford that does what you want it to. If there are several int eh same range then you can really start comparing. Don't put too much worry into what is "just around the corner" because there is ALWAYS something just around the corner.