A little advice please

thetonyclifton

Dec 27, 2013
Visit site
I am brand new to nexus and android. I have previously unlocked and tinkered with iphones but stopped that about 3-4 years ago.

I don't intend to do much which requires a rooted android except to improve performance (mainly battery life), maybe greenify and perhaps tinker with the look a bit eventually.

My question is, is it worth my while? I have read that the Franco kernal and greenify can improve battery life and performance quite a bit....however I would still like to retain the ability to quite simply update android OTA as the latest version was part of the reason I chose a nexus5.

I have done a bit of research and rooting seems relatively simple on a mac but I would appreciate some opinions (given my needs) and info on how I would go about using the Franco kernal and greenify if that is in fact the best way for me to go.

Apologies for the basic questions, I have done a lot of research and watching tutorials etc but I am a bit overwhelmed given that I am completely new to android and the terminology.

Thanks.

TC

krifor03

Nov 6, 2009
Visit site
I am brand new to nexus and android. I have previously unlocked and tinkered with iphones but stopped that about 3-4 years ago.

I don't intend to do much which requires a rooted android except to improve performance (mainly battery life), maybe greenify and perhaps tinker with the look a bit eventually.

My question is, is it worth my while? I have read that the Franco kernal and greenify can improve battery life and performance quite a bit....however I would still like to retain the ability to quite simply update android OTA as the latest version was part of the reason I chose a nexus5.

I have done a bit of research and rooting seems relatively simple on a mac but I would appreciate some opinions (given my needs) and info on how I would go about using the Franco kernal and greenify if that is in fact the best way for me to go.