USB c Paranoia

ptkelly

Sep 28, 2013
Visit site
It will not come as a surprise to read that I am not an electrical engineer. I bought a Nexus 5x and had read a lot of reviews but at the time I hadn't read articles about the horrors of USB c cables. Since I've read that Mr. Leung had a laptop fried by a bad USB c cable and someone else reported a Nexus 5x killed by a bad cable.

When my Nexus 5x came it was shipped from the U.S. but had originated in the United Arab Emirates. The charging plug had prongs for European sockets so I bought an adapter. It had the USB c to USB c cable. It works but I'm not a fan of fast charging and it did generate heat.

I bought a cable that is USB to USB c. That seems to be the type cable that gives the most problems. It has a label saying it meets the EU certification for whatever that's worth. I have been using the USB to USB c cable with an old USB charging plug without any problem. I know nothing about the charging plug but the Nexus 5x is charging faster than my Nexus 5 did but not as fast as the included plug charges. Anyway, I am having no problem with my cable and have no reason to get another.

But--there's always a but--I have a plethora of USB micro charging cables and plugs. I have one on my desk for charging my Kindles and my Nexus while I'm at my desk. I have another to charge from my car charger when I'm on road trips. I have another cable to charge from my power pack battery.

I have charged my Nexus 5x using an old USB micro cable with a power plug attached and it works fine but isn't as fast as the cable and plug by my bed.

Now, my questions.
A. Would I be correct to think the USB micro to USB c adapters are less risky than USB to USB c cables?