AT&T vs Verizon

bjrosen

Mar 19, 2011
Visit site
I'm currently on AT&T with my Nexus 5. I just got my 6P so I'll need a new SIM which is an opportunity to switch carriers. My understanding is that AT&T doesn't support VoLTE on the 6P but Verizon does. On the other hand AT&T is a little cheaper than Verizon and it's coverage now seems to have caught up.

My questions are,

is VoLTE a significant enough to warrent switching carriers?

Has any one switched between the two recently, if so how does the network performance compare?

I was on Verizon with the Galaxy Nexus but switched to AT&T when the N5 came out because Verizon didn't support it. For the first year or so the AT&T network was noticeably patchier than Verizon although when it worked well it was faster, However in the last 6 months I've seen much better performance for AT&T in rural New Hampshire and Vermont, towns which were essentially dead now have LTE. However I have no current experience with Verizon so I don't know how good their network is these days, any comparisons would be welcome.

fatboy97

Aug 10, 2010
Visit site
Recently... maybe not, but I did leave Verizon a year ago for AT&T... price was one of the reasons, but not the only... just tired of Verizon's attitude about everything.

I really like AT&T, but I'm also jumping ship today... Google's Project Fi... it's a lot cheaper, and I was already thinking about trying T-Mobile again. My SIM comes in today. I'm looking forward to trying that out. I think they already have some VoLTE capabilities, but I will be testing things out in the upcoming weeks.

bjrosen

Mar 19, 2011
Visit site
The problem with Project FI is that it uses two useless networks, T-Mobile and Sprint. If you live in big city and never leave it then it's fine but elsewhere it will be crap. I've looked at the coverage maps for both T-Mobile and Sprint and neither one of them has any decent coverage in most of New England outside of the immediate Boston area.

anon(156377)