Nexus OS support, how many years?

john.robles

Dec 5, 2015
Visit site
Hi guys I'm new to Nexus, I switched from iphone 6 plus. I just want to know if how msny years will google support the Nexus 6p for the OS? The IPhone 4s is still supported with the latest ape software. Does google do the same thing?

Ry

Moderator Captain
Trusted Member
Nov 16, 2010
Visit site
Hi guys I'm new to Nexus, I switched from iphone 6 plus. I just want to know if how msny years will google support the Nexus 6p for the OS? The IPhone 4s is still supported with the latest ape software. Does google do the same thing?

I think it's still officially 18 months but that seems like a minimum because the Galaxy Nexus used a processor from TI, who exited the consumer mobile SoC business.

john.robles

Dec 5, 2015
Visit site
I think it's still officially 18 months but that seems like a minimum because the Galaxy Nexus used a processor from TI, who exited the consumer mobile SoC business.
As I searched the web nexus 4 is still supported. This device is announced 2012. So are we looking for 3 years?

Nexus users- what are your experiences with the OS supports when you guys still have the olders nexus phones

Evilnut

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site
My Nexus 10 just turned over three years old and its not going to get marshmallow. So I'm guessing about two years or so is the support window?

Posted via Android Central App from a Nexus 6P or the amazing Nexus 10

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site

wrong. it has been changed to 3 years. major update for 2 years and minor/security update for 1 year.

I bought nexus 4 as soon as its released and I have been on the latest OS for 3 years. Then i got the nexus 6p.

you can get similar support for nexus 6p. support for 3 years

Nexus 4 got 5.1 and 5.1.1 when it was about 2 and half year old.

Crashdamage

Jan 18, 2015
Visit site
I don't know of any official set policy beyond 18 months including OS updates. Google has committed to that.