Is rooting right for me? (LG Optimus V)

stupidseld

Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Heya first post,
I have three real questions about rooting.

I'm brand new to smart phones but I've had fun in the past with Linux distros and have modded some gaming systems in the past.

Basically, I don't mind only having 300 anytime minutes with VM; but I'm very curious about using google voice instead. It really just completely takes over the way you receive calls, or do you have to do anything differently?

Also, I love emulating older gaming systems (SNES, GBA and such.) Can I just open the emulator after storing them to a SD card or is it a little more complicated than that?

The last thing I really want to have on my phone is just the ability to store MP3's on a SD card and hook up my phone to my car via AUX just to play music on shuffle. I'm sure there are some really nice media players out there that I would probably need to root for, right?

Can I do all of this without rooting my phone?
The ability to tether seems really awesome as wel, but I don't think I'd really use it that often to be honest.

Was planning on picking up an LG Optimus V next payday. The rooting process seems pretty simple to do, but no sense in voiding my warranty if I don't really need to, yeah?

Thanks in advance, duders. :)

watskyhotsky

May 26, 2011
Visit site
You dont need to root to do ANY of that.

the emulators USUALLY require a BIOS file as well as the ROM files, both of which need to be found seperately. the emulator can be downloaded with a google search. most of them got pulled from the android market.

I use gameboid and snesoid for my gaming on my V

google voice can receive calls but they still use up minutes on your 300 minute plan. i heard there are ways around this but they require different apps and since you never have 100% signal, the sound quality isnt great.