[GUIDE] How I port

anthonycr

Themer. You've seen them
Jul 11, 2011
Visit site
I thought I'd share http://www.google.com/gwt/x?gl=us&c...2012/02/how-to-deodex-rom-sdx-developers.html

Its all about deodexing and I noticed at the bottom it says that apps deodexed using scripts will force close if they have sound files because the files are compressed and they malfunction. It suggests manually deodexing them instead (using baksmali). I thought this was interesting since I know alot of you people that are porting are experiencing force closes with apps.;)

RyanJKremer

Aug 10, 2011
Visit site
For MIUIv4, for phone FC, I had to decompile the framework.jar in /system/framework (for both BASE and PORT) and go to com/internal/android/telephony/cdma and replace all the files with the ones from BASE.

What method are you using to decompile framework.jar? I'm trying to use the jadclipse plugin with Eclipse to decompile, but I am new to Eclipse and coming up with no good help on the Google. Am I over-complicating this?

As a side-note, I am using Ubuntu 12.04. All of the windows-based java-class decompilers are less-helpful for me.

Thank you for any help you can offer.

EarthnFire78

YAY!!! ME :)
Jan 1, 2012
Visit site
What method are you using to decompile framework.jar? I'm trying to use the jadclipse plugin with Eclipse to decompile, but I am new to Eclipse and coming up with no good help on the Google. Am I over-complicating this?

As a side-note, I am using Ubuntu 12.04. All of the windows-based java-class decompilers are less-helpful for me.

Thank you for any help you can offer.

Here is how I would work with the jar files for porting if I decompiled anything it Linux.

first unzip the jar file, in this case framework.jar
Code:
[SIZE="2"]unzip -q framework.jar classes.dex[/SIZE]
next decompile the classes.dex using a baksmali.jar and set the api level to o/s version.
Code:
[SIZE="2"]java -Xmx512m -jar baksmali.jar -a 10 classes.dex[/SIZE]