Overclocking Optimus V

shamilton

Apr 2, 2011
Visit site
New to attempting not to destroy perfectly functional devices but, I am one of the many that cannot leave well enough alone. Can this device simply be overclocked to one of the near 800mhz speeds without loosing functionality (mms, wifi, etc.) I love the idea of removing limitations set by manufacturers, but do not know what I will truly gain? I just want faster. Is there more I could obtain that alludes me? Any input would be very welcome. Also kudos to all the " independent developers" that have made leaps and bounds to advance technology when the manufacturers want to limit us. I am just beginning to understand what the Android community is all about.
:)

Hugh Johnson

Feb 27, 2011
Visit site
The Optimus series phones seem to overclock fine. You might start to experience crashing around 800 mhz though. I've bumped mine up to 768 mhz from the stock 600 mhz and it works fine.

PC_Jones

Mar 31, 2011
Visit site
New to attempting not to destroy perfectly functional devices but, I am one of the many that cannot leave well enough alone. Can this device simply be overclocked to one of the near 800mhz speeds without loosing functionality (mms, wifi, etc.) I love the idea of removing limitations set by manufacturers, but do not know what I will truly gain? I just want faster. Is there more I could obtain that alludes me? Any input would be very welcome. Also kudos to all the " independent developers" that have made leaps and bounds to advance technology when the manufacturers want to limit us. I am just beginning to understand what the Android community is all about.
:)

After putting the CyanigenMod 7 ROM for the Optimus S on my Optimus V, I've been able to overclock to 787 without any problems. If I go up to 806, I start getting random reboots.

one80oneday

Jan 25, 2011
twitter.com