Rooted. what next?

Jerenater10

May 4, 2011
Visit site
Hi, i successfully rooted my lg optimus v using the method detailed on this site LG Optimus V (Virgin Mobile) Root

I am VERY new to rooting and i don't know how to Flash recovery's, install custom ROM's etc.

what i do know:
i do know that once you flash a custom recovery, you can flash custom ROM's but i dont know how to do that. :p

Please help. thx

Eollie

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site
Link won't work, go to page 2 and click the ROMTools thread since you say you don't know what you're doing.
Please stop recommending romtools to the new people.

Do you really want more
"HALP I BRIKED MUH FONE BY USING LG FACTORY RESET NOW WUT DO I DO???!!!???1111"
threads popping up?

Lets get the new people to atleast understand the basics of flashing recovery and flashing a rom, before we show them romtools.

zedorda

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site
The basic concept I learned as I started getting into the ROMing stuff was:

1) If ur not understanding and comfortable with what ur doing to ur phone and rdy to buy another one "DON'T GO PASSED ROOTING!" there are nice things u can do with ur phone with just the root access even bricking it.

2) If all the above ur ok with but still want those kewl custom ROM juices flowing through ur phone and still feel uncomfortable go back and search more, read more, and even goto youtube.com there are videos of people putting recovery mods and ROMs on their phone going step by step.

3) Sit down shut up kiss ur warranty good bye and use what you have seen and learned.

The simple fact is bricking ur phone isn't as random a thing as people make it sound when ur reading the "help I think I bricked it" posts. Its because of a miss entered command, a low battery, skipped step, step done out of order, or even "I thought it was froze so I pulled the battery now it won't boot???".

Hope this helps.

Reactions: devilspy

Jerenater10

May 4, 2011
Visit site