Swap Size Benchmark Comparison

smokenbiskits

Apr 11, 2011
Visit site
So I used aospCM7-VM-20110516 and tried different swap/FS sizes.
The reason I did this is because I received a lot of hear-say about swap/fs sizes. I like numbers to do the talking; I'm a Computer Engineer in training so I love proof by numbers.
My hypothesis was swap size did matter, greater than 5% difference.

All Quadrant runs were in airplane mode on 768/768MHz cpu speed.
A good amount of the difference in averages represent less than a 1% difference, which is within the margin of error.

QuadrantvsSwap_html_m7cc82b7a.jpg

BenchmarkSwapQuadrant.png

Story of the numbers: swap doesn't matter!

Of course that's what everyone said, but I just hate to be told something be given no proof.
Experiments conclude that swap size's effect on benchmarking is negligible. :D

Last edited:

zedorda

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site
Heres a clear point to make this easier to understand. LG OPTIMUS V DOES NOT USE SWAP. Its nowhere in any of the code within its firmware. I think there hasnt been a phone to use swap memory since they avg over 128mb base.

P.S. From what I hear from a group I will refer to as "elders" in this field say "The swap file issue is talked about in circles that don't know whats going on but like to sound smart talking as if they did". This isn't a reference to you but to those you may of heard the hear-say from.

Last edited:
Feb 19, 2011
Visit site
that sounded mean.
I would say instead that the kernel used in the aospCmod ROMs has swap disabled in the build config. So, any app claiming swap isn't really using it, there is some kind of substitute for swap going on.
I'd love to have that kernel compiled with swap and ufs support if you're into that kind of thing and happen to have a swap-enabled kernel.

zedorda

Mar 16, 2011
Visit site
I am sorry I wasn't trying to be mean. I am just really bad at coming off nice but please believe me I wasn't trying to be mean :)