Nokia Experts seeking advice on Google Android

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dec 21, 2009
nokiaexperts.com
Hello everyone, this is Matt Miller from Nokia Experts kicking off a discussion for the second week of the Smartphone Round Robin. I bought the T-Mobile G1 the day it was launched and still find it to be a very capable Android device. I have tried a couple other Android devices since then and have to admit it is a platform that has my eye and one that I would seriously consider as my daily driver. If you have seen the Nokia N900 Maemo 5 device you would see a lot of similarities between the way Android and Maemo function with desktops and widgets too.

Even though I am quite familiar with the Android platform, I am not an expert and heavy user like you all so here are a few questions I have for you Google Android owners to kick off the discussion:

1. It seems to me that Google doesn't spend much time advertising or promoting Android devices and leaves it up to carriers and manufacturers. Will Google take more of an interest in promoting Android in 2010?
  2. On the devices I have tried, the HTC Sense UI was more compelling than the standard Android interface. There is now MotoBLUR, Samsung TouchWIZ, and HTC Sense. Will all of these interfaces create confusion for the Android platform and upgrades?
  3. What Google Android feature do you think you'd miss the most if somebody replaced your Android device with a Nokia smartphone?
  4. Will we ever see HTC come out with a follow-up QWERTY keyboard Android device?
  5. If I was thinking about an Android smartphone as my device, what 3 things would you tell me about it to convince me to buy one?

....there's plenty more to talk about, so don't feel limited by the above. Remember, every day you make a post in this thread for the next week, you'll be automatically entered to win a smartphone! More details at www.smartphoneroundrobin.com

ERDude

Oct 21, 2009
www.droidtalk.net