Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Thumbs down New technology in my high school NOT being used , opinions ?

I'm currently a freshman in High School , and this year there is a new building . It is known as the Freshman building because the Freshman core classes are in there . The buildings are brand new , and so is everything in them . Cabinet , Desks , Chairs , EVERYTHING . Included in these new buildings are Smart board [ http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_UvoGfEfZ_W...smartboard.jpg This isn't the new model , but the new ones have projectors built into the top , and are WAY bigger ] They're interactive boards that accept input via Stylus's , with a built in projector , are connected to a laptop via wifi . By the end of the year , every class with these boards will have a class set of tablets that also connect to it via wifi . We have software that comes with it . The classroom also has a speaker system built into the walls , which are connected to a microphone attached to a neckstrap for the teacher .
    Sounds perfect , right ?
    Wrong .

1/4 of my teachers who have this smartboard in there rooms even turn it on .
    1/2 of my teachers use the microphone .

The rest of them don't even turn it on . They just use it as a projector screen .

Is this crazy , or what ? Those things where probably NOT cheap , and my school isn't even implementing them . There's 20 new classes with this . I don't think even half of them use them .

Worst of all , this is the new standard for new buildings . My school needs new buildings badly , our buildings are from around the 1960s - 70s . You won't believe how hot and cold it is in there . We have janky little fans , and radiators that don't work .