Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Robot one
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Strange Allwinner A13 Q88 problem

Hi, folks.

I'm very new here so a big hello to all, and as I'm very very new to Android I add a somewhat nervous grovelling grin as I beg your assistance with what appears to be a common problem with a device from the Allwinner A13 series of tablets.

I was given a Q88 A13 that has the curious problem of starting to boot only to get stuck on a sweeping Android logo. The first thing you get when you press the power button is a small logo of a planet (I guess this is the eqiv of a bios screen) which disappears after a few seconds, then there is a temporary green Android logo (I guess this is a preboot screen), but this is quickly replaced by the sweeping Android logo which is where it stays.

Oh, and if you turn it off it immediately powers itself on again, it was on when it was given to me, and will continue to do this as many times as you turn it off. The only sure way to power it off completely is to disconnect the battery, which means opening the case and unsoldering the connections.

I got a charger, some cables, a small user guide all of which came in a generic Android tablet box which, along with the user manual, had no name, branding or other useful markings on it at all.

However, some things I'm pretty sure I know for certain :

- That it is in fact a Q88 A13. Just like this one -
    - USB debugging is NOT enabled.
    - Erm! That's about all I know, really.

Things I don't know:

- What version of Android is on it.
    - If it has any non-self evident hardware or technology faults
    - How on Earth you get those reams and reams of details that people post when requested.
    - Basically everything else.