A Long Time Microsoft User Tries Android: Guess What? It’s Great!

Laura Knotek

Moderator Captain
Jan 8, 2011
Visit site
Background: I’ve been a Microsoft user both at home and at work for many years. Yes, I also use Linux. However, my primary desktop OS has always been Windows. I have also used Office for many years. I currently have a subscription to Office 365 and Xbox Music. OneDrive is my primary cloud storage solution, and Outlook is my primary email/calendar solution. I also use Windows Phone (Nokia Lumia 920).

I wanted to try Android as a change of pace, and I got a Moto X (1st generation) and a Nexus 7 (2nd generation). These are my first Android devices. I’ve never used Android before, other than playing with devices in carrier stores or playing with devices owned by friends.

Since I’m heavily invested in the Microsoft ecosystem, I have no reason to switch to the comparable apps offered by Google. With that said, I decided to do a review of my experience using Microsoft apps on Android, following a couple weeks of use.

The Microsoft apps for Android that I installed are: Microsoft Office, Microsoft Outlook Preview, OneDrive, OneNote, Skype, Bing Search, Bing Rewards, and Xbox Music.

Now, let’s get to the review!