Galaxy S8 Edge to improve battery life (the S7 Edge is pretty good by the way)

omelet1978

Oct 24, 2010
Visit site
Hi,

I've been using the S7 Edge for 6 months or so and the battery life is pretty good and gets me through a day. However, I also have an iPhone 6s plus and the battery life is better with about a day and half of usage.

I've read that the S8 is going to a 4k screen. That doesn't sound like it'll be great for battery life. Any thoughts on this? The battery life is the main advantage I've seen of the iPhone Plus series. The S7 Edge is a great phone.

ThrottleJohnny

Trusted Member
Apr 1, 2014
Visit site
4k will definitely be a battery drainer. But from what I understand, you'll be able to default down to QHD as well as 1080p. My only desire for 4k is next gen VR. Otherwise, I won't use it.

Tim1954

Q&A Team
Jan 17, 2016
Visit site
Yes indeed, I'm looking forward to the S8, with the screen, they say you can control the screen density to save battery, so you would put it on 4k to play VR, or view pics, otherwise wind it back to a more conservative setting... Sounds like Nougat has some other great battery saving functions like Doze but on the move, so the device will sleep in your pocket while you are moving around... Exciting stuff! :)

Snareman

Nov 2, 2010
Visit site
You were able to control it on the Note7 as well. I think 1080 is likely plenty fine for most things. I don't need 4k. Isn't QHD already more pixel density than your eye can distinguish anyway? It's like the old megapixel wars with DSLRs. More MUST be better.

aldo82

Jul 24, 2012
Visit site
I haven't used VR but I think the need for higher resolution is linked to the VR experience. If the phone can be run at lower resolution to save battery most of the time then change to higher resolution when needed for VR for example then I'd be all for it

thunderbomb

Mar 1, 2015
Visit site