Galaxy Gear Smartwatch - Help, can't get Email nor Text Message Alerts

jiman72

Sep 20, 2012
Visit site
Hi All, newbie here, my first Galaxy Gear post.
I was not able to download the Gear Manager pairing with my Galaxy S4 Active via NFC so I downloaded the app from the web. It turns out that few things work such as clock face, facebook alerts, make and receive phone calls, transfer photos but the one thing I wanted was to receive alerts for my email and text messages which I'm not getting. Anyone experience a similar issue, any suggestion to resolve this issue? So far I like the watch a lot and most likely keeping it :)

jiman72

Sep 20, 2012
Visit site
That is correct and the reason I downloaded the Gear Manager off the web. Most functions work except for few and one of the function is email and text alerts.

jschu22

Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
Experienced similar, yes. Have a solution, no.

Just have to wait out an apparent forthcoming update.

Posted via Android Central App

Raptor007

Trusted Member
Apr 18, 2010
Visit site
I don't see how they can release it without knowing that the email and txt alerts DON'T WORK. I mean isn't that a pretty big one.

jschu22

Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
I don't see how they can release it without knowing that the email and txt alerts DON'T WORK. I mean isn't that a pretty big one.

Easy- It's only officially working with the Note 3, which has full functionality. Anyone missing functions is using something else, like an S4.

Haalcyon

Banned
Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
While I knew the Gear worked with the S4 I didn't know it worked with the S4 Active and didn't know about it only being semi-functional on anything other than the Note3.

Nexus 7

jschu22

Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
Not true, I have a GN3 on Verizon and I was not getting notifications and they were turned on my GN3.

There's something wrong with your devices or setup, I assume. The Gear is fully functional when paired with the Note 3.

luvsmobile

Luvzmobile
Aug 22, 2010