Things I hate about my Note 10.1 2014

Dr Law

Oct 27, 2013
Visit site
I have a love/hate relationship with my new Samsung Note. A lot of its features are utterly fantastic, and it has so much more functionality than my iPad, which is an attractive but pretty useless toy by comparison. After about 8 weeks ownership of the Note I'm still learning how to use it, but here in no particular order, are some of my pet annoyances that I've been unable to solve thus far. ...

1. When I click on a .pdf download (and many other file types), I get a flash warning (believe these are called "toast"), saying "not a supported file type". Yet if I open up Polaris Office, hunt for the download then click on it, it opens just fine, so it IS a supported file type. This I think merely indicates the OS simply doesn't know Polaris or other apps capable of opening given file types, exist.... ie *in Windows speak, the file type associations aren't set.

2. The Toast warnings don't stay on screen for long enough. I generally only notice them just as they are vanishing. They are too quick to read at that stage and as far as I can see, the display time isn't configurable.

3. The keyboard size options are either too large or too small.

4. The keyboard has no left/right arrow cursor. (Few do, but would be a nice feature, and some of the wasted keyboard real estate could be better utilised I'm sure).

5. The stock android email app keeps deleting my emails. (The iPad doesn't). Tried lots of settings, but couldn't cure this. (However now sorted by using the wonderful Aqua Mail Pro app).

6. Multi window has a rather limited range of associated apps, eg, Polaris isn't on the list, and my new email client Aqua Mail, doesn't show, only the stock android email client, which I no longer use. (Can you add or delete apps on the multiwindow bar? )