SD card question

ALborntoride

Feb 2, 2014
Visit site
So i've had my 16GB note 2014 for about a week now and still loving it!!! My question is about the SD card though. Since i just got the 16Gb Note (couldn't really afford to go to 32Gb) I've debated about what size SD card to get. I've come no where near using the 16G I have right now but it may be an issue down the road. Since i'm still learning with Android and i've read where you can't download all apps to the SD card i'm wondering about if this option will become available once 4.4 is available for the Note. I saw where the Pro has 4.4 and has a option for downloading apps to the SD card. Is this something that is just for the Pro series or is part of 4.4?? A little confused about all the SD card cans and cants...lol

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Your Note 10.1 2014 CAN download apps to SD. The thing is (and they don't tell you this on the brochures, obviously) is that it's not up to Samsung to decide, it's up to the devs. App2SD was removed from Android a while back, and Samsung brought it back for its custom OS included in their phones (Nexus phones, for instance, don't have App2SD capabilities nor will they have again... plus, it seems, Nexus devices are done with SD card support at all). The thing is, since it's no longer a part of the CORE functions of Android, the developers don't make use of this. So, while some apps will let you move most of their data to an SD card if your system still supports it, the truth is most apps (and even more with time) don't let you move most stuff to SD card (mostly just extra downloads or files), and some, nothing at all.