Best tablet for an artist?

Illustrator Joe

Apr 16, 2012
Visit site
I will give you a little background about what I need. The college I graduated from started free classes on Sundays for Alumni for life drawing classes. For me the only way to benefit it to work digitally. I have a laptop and a Wacom tablet but the laptop is fried. It's a MacBook pro OG and has many issues. I work on a Mac Pro daily at work and iMac at home. But for sketching on the go purposes I would like a mobile tablet.

What I need:
10 inch screen size
Pressure sensitivity
Good drawing app selection

Options that I can afford:
Note 10.1 (2013)
Note 10.1 (2014) refurbished
Microsoft Surface Pro (refurb)

I can't afford the Note 12.2 and I think the 10 in screen will be plenty. I can't afford the Surface 2. I think the original pro will suffice.

-I know there is Wacom tech in the note 10.1 but I have heard of it lagging when drawing
-I like the idea of the Surface Pro and having the whole Windows desktop OS at my disposal.
-I have heard the Surface doesn't have palm rejection do you guys think this is an issue?
-Android has Sketchbook pro, Microsoft only has the Sketchbook express app. What isn't available in express?
-I heard the pressure sensitivity doesn't work on many apps and programs on the Surface Pro
-the thin stylus on the Note 10.1 models concerns me a bit. I like a fatter digitizer.
-I know the older model of the Note 10.1 is on an older version of Android but when it comes to drawing is there much different in the 2014 model, worth the extra cash?

If I have more questions I will add them.

I know this is Android Central but please try to be objective. I am trying to get the best artists tablet for my money. If you have had any or all of these devices and especially if you are an artist I would love your input.

ಠ益ಠ

GingerX1

Mar 26, 2014
Visit site