No mass USB storage -- now what can I do??

thoots

Jul 22, 2012
Visit site
Well, I'm pretty happy with my new 32-gig gray Note 10.1. Except for the really nasty little bit that you'll never comprehend until you buy it -- that it doesn't have USB Mass Storage capability.

Oh, "it's a machine for business," or so it gets claimed -- but how on earth can I conduct "business" on it when I can't even get my "business" files (Excel, Word, etc.) onto the damn thing?!??

Geez, what utter ridiculousness!!

Oh, just root the thing, void your warranty, worry about bricking the thing, and gosh knows what will stop working when you do it? I'm really really not prepared to do that.

So, here's what I've been doing with other intelligent devices for the past several years: I simply pull up the device in USB mass storage mode on my computer, and use a file synchronization program to make sure I've got the most recent version of everything on both the computer and the device. Simple, effective, "businesslike." Oh, and I'm only talking about accessing the micro SD card in the thing -- I have no intention at all of touching the actual device's memory.

So, short of tossing this damn useless thing like a frisbee through a window, what I can I do to get anything but media files over to it? Let alone "synch" them so that I don't have to manually copy file by file, trying to figure out which one is the most recent? I suppose there might be "cloud" rubbish that might work, but I have sworn that it'll be my last day on earth when I have to put my confidential information on somebody's server just to get information over to a device -- what the heck is so wrong with "wires?" But, I might consider it.

If you have any sage advice to send my way, I would appreciate it. I didn't really plan on paying $550 for a dang media player.

Thanks!

thoots

glitchgod

Jun 9, 2012
Visit site