need help w/dvd external drive or video

J HighNote

Feb 24, 2012
Visit site
Okay, so I've had a very frustrating evening and I'm certain many of you can probably offer some advice or alternatives. Someone had asked whether an external drive could be connected to the Note but I don't think anyone answered that specific question. But it sounded like a good idea so I started to look into it and found a Samsung external portable DVD writer that was for Windows, Mac, and ANDROID. No external power source, plugs in via usb cord and should be good to go. I thought the worst would be it might drain the battery pretty fast. I have no experience with media on a tablet but it sounded so simple. HA! I'll spare you most of the frustration in lack of information in online manual. It does say if the drive doesn't come on to use a Y usb cable and connect it to two ports. It also says not to use a usb hub. Now I have the real deal Samsung adapter to create a usb port with a 30 pin adapter. I used a real Samsung usb cord that connects drive to adapter. No luck, not even the led light came on. Tried it on my computer, it works. Tried a usb Y connecter to one hub and it didn't work, tried it with a different hub and the green light came on but it didn't seem to read the dvd. So, as more frustration sank in, I got my hyperion battery charger that has a usb connection and put one leg of the Y into the charger plugged into an extension cord, and the other Y into the adapter in the tablet. All that made it extremely UNportable but at this point, I was on a MISSION. The drive would open, and it would rotate and do an odd click but I couldn't figure out how to get the tablet to even look at it. I tried the video player but couldn't figure out how to get it to go look elsewhere for a movie. I tried the my files folder to see if I could get to the dvd drive but couldn't figure that out either.