Pictures & Videos -- How's the Camera Quality?

SoundsGood

Jul 26, 2010
Visit site
Hey guys,

I'm accustomed to pretty darn good quality in the pictures and videos I take with my iPhone.

If I switch to a Galaxy Note 2, will I be disappointed with the quality of the pics and or videos?

Good quality pictures and videos are very important to me, so please be honest. :)

Thanks!

1812dave

Sep 9, 2010
Visit site
bright light with defaults. great.

flash images in dim light, with defaults--AWFUL. results are blue and overexposed. but there is a solution: use the Party/Indoor mode to change the color balance/exposure to a far better result.

dim lighting, non-flash--GRAINY, unless you use the HDR mode, which works VERY, VERY well.

I'm an advanced amateur photog, so I notice all the flaws. :)

Video recording, as with just about every DSLR, compact, and cell phone camera, is full of the jello effect when you pan at anything other than a glacial speed.

There is no actual image stabilization--just an increase in shutter speed with "anti-shake" turned on. It's mildly helpful, at best.

Overall, the results are light years ahead of the POS camera in the Bionic and other current Motos such as the Razr line.

DAS

Feb 9, 2011
Visit site
I would say if your PRIMARY need in a smartphone is picture and video quality then the Note 2 may not be for you.

Don't get me wrong, the pics and vids taken on this device are very good, but even in Samsung's ads they don't highlight the image quality of the device, but rather focus more on convenience features that other smartphones lack.

Here are a few pics, taken at night during the Chinese Light Festival. Each picture was taken with the device, but the Note 2 is not all about pictures and videos. It's primary claim to fame is the wacom technology of the s-pen, the large screen for viewing content and multi-tasking, and extensive convenience features offered in Touchwiz.

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Android Central Forums

Attachments