Samsung Galaxy Note 4 Qi Charging with Adaptive Charge

Duffin

Mar 25, 2010
Visit site
So, I'm fairly new to wireless charging and definitely new to the new Adaptive Charging. Anyone know if a Qi charging pad is even capable of using the Adaptive Charger to its full potential? Normally when I plug in the cable, a notification says it's fast charging, but I got the wireless charging cover today and when I put it on the charging pad (using the same cable and adapter), there is no notification. So, I'm guessing it's not using the adaptive charging?

raptir

Sep 4, 2010
Visit site
Re: Qi Charging with Adaptive Charge

No, I don't believe it's possible through wireless charging. Since wireless charging uses induction you end up with a lot more heat generated even at normal charging speeds, I don't think it would be safe for fast charging.

muzzy996

Feb 3, 2011
Visit site

My understanding is that the adaptive fast chargers change the voltage to achieve the higher charge rate. This is something new so its impossible for existing wireless chargers to support it. Whether or not wireless charging standards change to support it is anyone's guess.

ChemMan

May 7, 2013
Visit site