How can I stop contacts from searching every contact I have ever emailed using gmail?

GalaxyManAD

Apr 5, 2015
Visit site
Hello Android and Samsung Galaxy Note 4 friends!

I am a recent convert from the Apple vortex. It has been a little bit of a learning curve, but I am really enjoying the features of my new Galaxy Note 4 and Android. However, I have a problem that I do not now know how to solve.

The problem: When I enter Phone -> Contacts and search for a name, I get hits from what looks like Google+ connections or people I have emailed once in the past. It is very frustrating because I don't want to see those people. I ONLY want to see people in the my contacts located on my device.

Pardon me if this seems like a dumb question, but I am very new to Android and the Note 4. Thanks in advance for you help.

Lepa79

Apr 5, 2015
Visit site
Same issue here. U can select to show only phone contacts but ya, when you do search, it will still bring back all contacts from all accounts. I even disabled contact sync with Google but that doesn't delete them. You will have to manually deleted them I think.

Posted via the Android Central App

beh

Oct 13, 2011
Visit site
I don't have an answer for you, but I will share my personal view of Google+. I don't like the invasiveness of Google+ for the very type of issue you mentioned. The only way I found to stop this is to simple "turned off" the Google+ app and only run Google app which allows me to use Google search. Under this scenario when I search Contacts the Note 4 only opens the onboard contacts app.

To "turn off" an app go to Settings>Applications>Application Manager>All> select Google+>select Turn Off>select Delete Updates>and follow prompts with Yes until done.

GalaxyManAD

Apr 5, 2015
Visit site
Thanks so much for trying to help. I followed your suggestion, but no change. It's very frustrating. I don't want to see those people.

Lepa79

Apr 5, 2015
Visit site