Any scientists use note 5 as electronic lab notebook?

bmbriefs

Feb 19, 2011
Visit site
I'm a scientist and I keep an electronic lab notebook. I'm looking to upgrade phones and am wondering if the Note 5 is a good option for keeping a lab notebook. My current system usually involves me taking hand written notes on a notebook and then transcribing them along with data and other information into a Onenote notebook. Having some sort of stylus optimized note taking device seems like a great solution, but I'm not sure if it is really practical.

Anyone out there do this? I'm wondering if it's actually practical. On the one hand, I'm usually listening to music on my phone while I work, so I should have it on me at all times. On the other hand, it's usually in my pocket and I wonder if that will cause me to not use it. I work in a semi-wet lab with biological specimens, so I'm concerned that I won't actually use the device since it will be in my pocket, my hands will be gloved and I'd be slightly concerned about leaving it out on the benchtop.

If any of you have used a galaxy note in a lab, I'd appreciate it if you shared your experiences. It's possible there's a solution out there that I haven't considered.

daves221

Dec 30, 2013
Visit site
Hi.. One thought (and I am not a scientist so can't answer your question as stated) is that the screen size, while large for a phone, can limit input a bit. I use my note 5 for notes at work, which I love. However, the screen presents some challenge due to how one's hand overlays the edges. Thick cases can add to the challenge as I found with my note 3, particularly at the edge of the device if it's flat on a table. I got a thinner case for my note 5. In the lab case, if you add a protective case, keep that in mind. A tablet would remediate the issue a bit as it has a larger total surface fit your hand and the note taking.

That my phone is always with me is a plus for me in my situation, so the tradeoff is with it for me.