Brand New Note 5---Replacing 12 Year-Old Flip Phone

radicchio

Oct 26, 2013
Visit site
So excited! Friday I finally got my Note 5. As noted above, I've been using a flip phone for the past 12 years. I started looking at Samsung's Note series when Note 3 was released. I always intended to buy one, but just kept putting it off because I'm very frugal. My flip phone finally died, so I got to buy my first smartphone. I'm enjoying it so much. Already set up with Nova Prime, and Swapps side launcher. I still have to research how to make and apply custom ringtones for various contacts, but that will have to wait until later when I have a bit more time.

I also have a TYLT Vu wireless charger, which is so convenient. One quirky thing, though. I have to place the phone on the charger on a diagonal, with the top of the phone leaning to the right, in order to get it to start charging. Then I can just slide it so that it's sitting on the charger straight and it works really well. If I place it with the top leaning to the left or straight up and down it will not start charging. Anyone else seen this? Wonder what the explanation is. I don't mind, though, as I find the wireless charger to be so useful.

After just a few days using this phone I wonder why in the world I waited to so long to get it. Really happy so far. Also open to hearing what your favorite tips/tricks or favorite features of the Note 5 might be.

SpookDroid

Ambassador
Jul 14, 2011
Visit site
Nice! Welcome to the Smartphone world and quite a device you chose to start! Awesome! We're all here to help if we can :)

nickdeck

Oct 9, 2010
Visit site
Congrats on the new Note! I'm a fairly recent adopter, myself, and I love it.

On the Tylt issue, I suggest you email their support people. I had a recent problem with mine (although not the same as yours) and they were very quick to respond.

radicchio

Oct 26, 2013
Visit site
Congrats on the new Note! I'm a fairly recent adopter, myself, and I love it.