Changing Tomorrow from ATT to T-Mobile. What to Expect?

MerpsMom

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
I'm on employer's plan and he's switching to T-Mobile. Tomorrow, my phone will be unlocked and the T-Mobile sim card inserted.

I've never done any of this and what can I expect? ATT has a lot of bloatware on my Note 5. What happens to that and anyone know if T-Mobile loads it up with the same type of stuff? Perhaps the extraction of the ATT sim takes that all with it? And the introduction of the TM sim loads it back on?

Any help is appreciated!

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
I've never done the switch like that before, but the AT&T bloatware won't disappear. The best that you can do without rooting the phone is Disabling those apps (if possible) in the App Manager. T-Mobile won't force any new bloatware on the phone (although I would recommend the T-Mobile Tuesdays app, because FREE STUFF!:D).

Be aware that future system updates might not come through over-the-air while you're on T-Mobile, since OTA updates usually require a carrier-specific device to be on the original carrier's network. Instead, you can use Samsung Smart Switch to manually update the system.

anon(632115)

Jan 5, 2012
Visit site
You may find 3G and 4G reception flakey as the AT&T device doesn't use the same bands as TMobile. In relation to system updates you cant use Smart Switch. You will either need a valid AT&T sim card or take it to Best Buys to update.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Hmph.:-\ Is this only with AT&T, or with other carrier-specific Samsung phones as well? It's helpful for me to know, so that I don't give other people the wrong information.:(

MerpsMom

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
Interesting on the OTA updates. I'll just pop on over to Best Buy occasionally to see what they can do.

I have the original ATT sim card in my billfold but guess I can't just switch the TM and it whenever I want. There's always something. :(