Would you buy a GNote8 today?

jlongrc

Jun 15, 2013
Visit site
I'm thinking about grabbing one, but I'm pretty torn.

First of all, it isn't exactly new, but it's not exactly old either. It has the hardware to last a while it seems, but Samsung hasn't shown an eagerness for update support it seems. On the other hand, most folks (I think) are happy with the way it worked out of the box.

I'm in it primarily for the stylus -- I'm a graduate student and I want to take handwritten notes on the tablet. I assume there are others who use it for this purpose -- how do you like it?

Ideally, I'd be able to take notes on OneNote. Unfortunately, that's a no-go on Android. Other than the Surface Pro, I don't see any Windows options near this price range, though. The Dell Venue has an active stylus, but terrible reviews thus far. So, I'm thinking of moving on from OneNote for this purpose and looking into Android alternatives for inking.

Of course, I don't want to do that if the wonderful Galaxy Note 8 community here at AC wouldn't advocate getting it at this point as Samsung appears to be on the cusp of releasing a new 8-incher. What say you?

Bangkok Hound

Jul 11, 2012
Visit site

bmyers_az

Apr 14, 2010
Visit site
I in fact did buy a Galaxy Note 8 today. There just doesn't seem to be any comparable product if you're interested in having the real stylus and not a fat fingered capacitive stylus.

bryanmsi

Mar 14, 2012
Visit site
I bought one yesterday and couldn't be happier. At $329 it seems fairly priced and I'm not at all concerned with the specs. The screen, while not retina, is plenty sharp and I find the color saturation to be more pleasing to my eye than my iPad Air. The spen is a huge bonus for me - it's world's beyond what other tablets can do.

I also think it feels really nice in the hand and the audio is good.