Galaxy Note 8.0: Cracked my screen. Is there a cheap/easy diy fix out there?

cowboys703

Mar 5, 2011
Visit site
Google brought me to a few sites claiming they had the steps figured out but the comments were filled with either people saying the guide was wrong or the people who responded never came back to say it worked. I brought it into one of those cell phone repair stores and they said it would be about 200 bucks. Looking online and I see the screen+digitizer goes for about 180 while the screen goes for about 40 by itself. Some of the comments I've been seeing say it is pretty much impossible to remove the digitizer from the screen.

If it ends up being that I have to buy both, I'd rather just get a refurbished one off Amazon for an extra 50 bucks. I like to tinker but I'm not very good at it.

Unless, of course, there is another tablet coming out soon that has S-Pen quality function that I have not heard of yet?

Last edited by a moderator:

dudeeg

Oct 7, 2013
Visit site
Google brought me to a few sites claiming they had the steps figured out but the comments were filled with either people saying the guide was wrong or the people who responded never came back to say it worked. I brought it into one of those cell phone repair stores and they said it would be about 200 bucks. Looking online and I see the screen+digitizer goes for about 180 while the screen goes for about 40 by itself. Some of the comments I've been seeing say it is pretty much impossible to remove the digitizer from the screen.

If it ends up being that I have to buy both, I'd rather just get a refurbished one off Amazon for an extra 50 bucks. I like to tinker but I'm not very good at it.

Unless, of course, there is another tablet coming out soon that has S-Pen quality function that I have not heard of yet?

Hi,

I just fixed my Note8 broken screen a month ago. I was researching a lot what is possible what not. In the end, I bought a complete glass+digitizer+lcd assembly.