Google Voice won't work on Skyrocket

TvTechGuru

Nov 25, 2009
Visit site
I got my Skyrocket a week and a half ago and couldn't get ANY kind of voicemail setup. When I tried to set it up I got some automated AT&T message that asked me to enter my voicebox number? I'm new to AT&T. Any who, I just tried to call into it and the AT&T visual voicemail app popped up and all of the sudden it works. I did a test call from a land line and was able to leave a message and then retrieve it from the Visual Voicemail app.

But when I try and go into settings, call, voicemail service, and then choose Google Voice, I get a popup that says "Error, Change to new provider?" and I click Yes. It says "Updating settings", and then says, "Error, Forwarding number change failed."

Does AT&T block Google Voice? This is my guess. Maybe they don't want that on their network and instead force the Visual Voicemail app on you? It doesn't seem like a bad voicemail app, it's a watered down GV pretty much. But I would like to use GV.

jess.hickey

Nov 23, 2010
Visit site
It works just fine. I've been using since release day. I ran into the same problem and can't remember the work around.

If memory serves me correctly I went to GV on my computer and reactivated my phone from there. It will give you a string of numbers to enter into your phone dialer and viola!

Good luck...I promise ya it works!

Reactions: TvTechGuru

gaygeek

May 13, 2011
Visit site
You need to activate forwarding to Google Voicemail from entering the code from the GV website--the voicemail service selector on the phone doesn't work. Go to GV settings and click "activate Google voicemail on this phone" and it will tell you the code to enter.

Reactions: TvTechGuru

LoSt180

Nov 29, 2011
Visit site