Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Google Talk: "com.google.process.gapps has stopped" when receiving a message

When I receive a message on Talk, the app freezes and I get the message"Process com.google.process.gapps has stopped" (notification for receiving message is not shown).
    Android version is 4.1.1 (the phone is not rooted).
    I believe I've tried almost everything I found on forums (clearing cache and data for all gmail apps, removing google account, restarting). Also, Factory reset did not work either - as soon i set up my google account, I stop syncing (although at the first account, everything is beginning to be synced) but if I receive a GTalk message, it freezes.

What is there left to try ?
    Is there a way to update Google Services ? (process com.google.process.gapps). I'm a noob and I don't really know how exactly I do that ?
    Please help !

Default Re: Google Talk: "com.google.process.gapps has stopped" when receiving a message

I had the same problem with my Galaxy S3, and fixed it by performing the following procedure:
    1 - Go to "Settings" -> "Application manager."
    2 - Locate "Internet" under All-tab.
    3 - Then, tap on "Clear data" button.

In my case, this seems to have cleared away some sort of troubled data/files stored in SD or Internet application folder probably created when I last updated the phone, which may have been causing the problem. Anyway, since this is done, this com.google.process.gapps stopping problem hasn't recurred until now (for about five hours).
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Default Re: Google Talk: "com.google.process.gapps has stopped" when receiving a message

Thank you for your reply, but i already tried that several times and it didn't work.