Need a little help installing cyanogen mod 12.0

P Droiddily

Aug 29, 2015
Visit site
Hello

Pretty big noob here just started getting into and reading about rooting/custom roms/ kernels ect. (a lot, and my head hurts)

Model:GT-18190N
Android version: 4.1.2
Kernel version: 3.0.31-1436784
Network: T-mobile. U.K.

Please excuse the long post but i feel its probably better to give the full story rather than fill in gaps later :D

Basically My phone got slow and laggy and the battery was being drained to death so I started looking into rooting my phone mainly to free up space on my internal memory (4.54GB) by moving apps to the external micro SD card i have in my phone (32GB). After many hours on google i found that to do this on my particular device i would have to root the phone.

I rooted the phone using "kingroot" and then again after a while on google searching space saving apps i downloaded a few things like.
Rom Manager
Titanium backup
Greenify
Link2SD
Root uninstaller.
I played with a few things after researching and i noticed a great improvement in the battery life of the device, which is great but i want space mostly and after trying to use Link2SD and Apps2SD and GL2SD several times i apparently needed a 2nd partition on the SDcard??

So again, after many hours on google looking into creating a 2nd partition on the Sd card it became all too much for me and i decided id try to install a custom rom that would have a 2nd partition (or just the option to move apps to SD for ghaaaads saaake!! :( already built into it.

where im at now:
I have used RomManager and made a back up Clockworkmod recovery and also a TWRP one.
(although on the RomManager app, under /backup and restore/manage and restore backups/ it says "no backups found"
Yet under /Recovery/Setup/Recovery already installed/ it says Clockworkmod recovery/TRWP recovery) is this usual?